OneStat.com Web Analytics

 
Dec
17

That “Mitch The Mayor” parody Web site we wrote about earlier today? The one that was wiped off the Internet immediately afterward (along with its accompanying YouTube, Facebook and Twitter sites)?

It may be a coincidence, but ComputerCC, the Web registrar for the site “www.mitchthemayor.com” and Iokon, the New Orleans-based Web strategy firm of Mitch Landrieu’s competitor John Georges, are both registered to the same address (3439 Kabel Drive, Suite 12, New Orleans, Louisiana 70131) at the Louisiana Secretary of State’s office.

Loki at Humid City has a thorough and easy-to-understand explanation of how all this tech-detection works.

Circumstantial, yes — but interesting. Does this mean the anti-Landrieu site was the product of the Georges campaign team (or a “rogue agent”)? Dunno. We have calls in to Georges himself and his public relations team, Helena Moreno and Liz Reyes, but no return calls yet, and will update this post when we do.


Comments:
Sr. Luncheon on December 17th, 2009 at 5:52 pm #

I have a question:

I would like to know, if the reports are correct, the fake Mitch site directed to a site that seemed to implicate Perry. That seems unethical definitely, but is it illegal for a candidate to blame another candidate for their attack ad or attack site against another candidate? (sorry that question is convoluted, but so is this scheme)

Like if “G” made an attack site against “M”, but the site falsely implicated “P” and possibly “H” as the ones who made the add, then is “G” doing something illegal?

I get that if it was a straight up attack or parody that should be ok, but implicating another candidate(s) is what gets me.

Post a comment
Name: 
Email: 
URL: 
Comments: 

Please note: By clicking 'submit' you are agreeing to the
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy